Outgoing House Speaker Nancy Pelosi with Rep. James Clyburn(Yuri Gripas/AFP/Getty Images)

Outgoing Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi won a secret vote in the Democratic House Caucus this afternoon to become the next House minority leader. By a vote of 150 to 46, Pelosi defeated just one opponent, Heath Shuler, a centrist representative from North Carolina.

Rounding out the House Democratic leadership will be Steny Hoyer, the new House minority whip, and James Clyburn, who had initially vied for whip but will now fill an ad hoc, tertiary position called "assistant leader."

On the Republican side, Ohio's John Boehner was named House speaker, while Eric Cantor, a Virginian, will take the number two role.

Read more at the Los Angeles Times.