Vote 2020 graphic
Everything you need to know about and expect during
the most important election of our lifetimes

Inauguration 2013: Preliminary Schedule Announced

Inauguration 2009 (The Washington Post)
Inauguration 2009 (The Washington Post)

(The Root) — Get your fancy gowns, coats appropriate for a cold day on the National Mall and local community service projects in order: After the holidays, the 57th Presidential Inauguration will be just around the corner. And on Thursday the 2013 Presidential Inaugural Committee announced its official launch and provided preliminary details on the weekend's schedule.


Things will kick off on Saturday, Jan. 19, with a tradition started by the Obamas at the president's first inauguration in 2009: a National Day of Service designed to honor Americans' shared values and celebrate the legacy of Martin Luther King Jr.

Next, in keeping with tradition for inauguration days that fall on a Sunday, the president will participate in a small, private swearing-in ceremony on Jan. 20.


The big event — the public swearing-in, followed by a parade and the official inaugural balls — will take place on Monday, Jan. 21. 

"This year's inaugural will reflect our belief that working together, we can keep moving our country forward and fulfill the promise of the American dream for all families," President Obama said in a statement released today.

Also announced were the co-chairs and honorary co-chairs for the 2013 Presidential Inaugural Committee. The following people have been named co-chairs:

Ambassador Matthew Barzun, national finance chair of President Obama's re-election campaign and former ambassador to Sweden


Eva Longoria, actress, Obama for America Campaign co-chair and founder of the Eva Longoria Foundation

Jane Stetson, national finance chair of the Democratic National Committee

Frank White, former member of the National Advisory Council on Minority Business Enterprises


These leaders have been named honorary co-chairs for the committee:

President Jimmy Carter, 39th president of the United States

President George H.W. Bush, 41st president of the United States

President Bill Clinton, 42nd president of the United States

President George W. Bush, 43rd president of the United States

Patrick Gaspard, chair, National Mall

More information about the 2013 Presidential Inaugural Committee can be found at and on Twitter.

Share This Story

Get our newsletter