Screenshot of the Washington Government Relation Groups' Fourth Annual Tin Cup Awards flyer

(The Root) — The Washington Government Relations Group, the oldest organization for African-American government-relations professionals, is holding its Fourth Annual Tin Cup Awards Dinner on Wednesday, July 24, at the French Embassy in Washington, D.C. The dinner honors individuals for their continued "commitment to the enrichment of African-American government relations professionals."

This year's awards recipients are Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Rep. Gregory Meeks (D-N.Y.), Federal Communications Commission Acting Chairwoman Mignon Clyburn, Exxon Mobil Corp. executive Lonnie L. Johnson, Collins/Johnson Group founding partner Art Collins, Ian Reid Chairman Jarvis C. Stewart, Perennial Strategy Group founder and CEO Lamell McMorris and MSNBC host and Tulane University professor Melissa-Harris Perry, who occupied the No. 1 spot on The Root 100 2012 honoree list.

Stay tuned for our post-event recap.

Follow the Washington Government Relations Group on Twitter.