Members of the founding chapter of Phi Beta Sigma
Phi Beta Sigma

On Jan. 9, 1914, three African-American men founded Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity at Howard University. Since then the frat has produced many notable members. Here are 12 of them.

1. A. Philip Randolph
Iota Sigma chapter
Union organizer, civil rights leader

2. Rep. John Lewis (D-Ga.)
Lambda Sigma chapter
U.S. congressman, Georgia’s 5th District

3. James Weldon Johnson
Omega chapter
Composer, “Lift Every Voice and Sing,” the “Negro national anthem”


4. Huey P. Newton
Beta Tau chapter
Co-founder of the Black Panther Party


5. Hosea Williams
Zeta chapter
Civil rights activist

6. Kwame Nkrumah
Mu chapter
First president of the Republic of Ghana


7. Edolphus Towns
Eta chapter
Former Democratic U.S. congressman, New York’s 10th District

8. Emmitt Smith
Zeta Kappa chapter
Hall of Fame NFL running back


9. George Washington Carver
Gamma Sigma chapter

10. Alain LeRoy Locke
Alpha chapter
First black Rhodes scholar, “Father of the Harlem Renaissance”


11. Hines Ward
Zeta Nu chapter
NFL wide receiver


12. Former President Bill Clinton
Honorary member
Politician, philanthropist