Nobel Laureate Wole Soyinka Wins Anisfield-Wolf Book Award

The topics of the five literary-award recipients ranged from war to pig farming.

Wole Soyinka and books by other winners of 78th Annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards (Loyola Marymount University)

On Monday, award sponsor the Cleveland Foundation announced the winners of the 78th Annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards. The recipients are the following:

* Laird Hunt, Kind One, Fiction

* Kevin Powers, The Yellow Birds, Fiction

* Eugene Gloria, My Favorite Warlord, Poetry

* Andrew Solomon, Far From the Tree, Nonfiction

* Wole Soyinka, Lifetime Achievement 

Past winners include five writers who went on to win Nobel Prizes: Nadine Gordimer, the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr., Toni Morrison, Derek Walcott and Nigerian author Wole Soyinka, who won the Nobel Prize in literature three years after winning the Anisfield-Wolf Award for his memoir, Ake: The Years of Childhood.

"The 2013 Anisfield-Wolf winners are exemplars who broaden our vision of race and diversity," said The Root Editor-in-Chief Henry Louis Gates Jr., who chairs the jury. "This year, there is exceptional writing about the war in Iraq, slavery on a Kentucky pig farm, the Filipino experience in the U.S. and the complexity of families in which a child is radically different from parents."

Learn more at Anisfield-Wolf.

Like The Root on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter.  

The Root encourages respectful debate and dialogue in our commenting community. To improve the commenting experience for all our readers we will be experimenting with some new formats over the next few weeks. During this transition period the comments section will be unavailable to users.

We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your continued support of The Root.

While we are experimenting, please feel free to leave feedback below about your past experiences commenting at The Root.