Managing Your Blackness

The Root Recommends: How to Be Black, Baratunde Thurston's satirical guide to race issues.

Posted:
 
thurston_bookcover300

Struggling to figure out how to be black in the 21st century? Baratunde Thurston has the perfect guide for you. In How to Be Black, the writer-comedian doles out advice on critical issues in a collection of essays such as "How to Be the Black Friend," "How to Speak for All Black People" and "How to Celebrate Black History Month."

This fun read is also a biting critique of the media's insistence on portraying blackness as one-dimensional. Through humor, Thurston teaches readers how to be black by reminding them that there really is no one way to do it.

Fans of Stuff White People Like, This Week in Blackness and other blogs that take satirical shots at racial stereotypes are sure to love How to Be Black. The book is set for release on Jan. 31, 2012, but is currently available for preordering.

Previous recommendation: Celebrate Black Cinema in San Diego.

Got ideas for The Root Recommends? Send them to recommendations@theroot.com.

Like The Root on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter.

Comments
The Root encourages respectful debate and dialogue in our commenting community. To improve the commenting experience for all our readers we will be experimenting with some new formats over the next few weeks. During this transition period the comments section will be unavailable to users.

We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your continued support of The Root.

While we are experimenting, please feel free to leave feedback below about your past experiences commenting at The Root.
Must-See Family Attractions
July 29 2014 2:13 PM