'Soul Train Awards': Gladys Knight, Heavy D and EWF Honored

Nick Ashford was also remembered for his contributions to the music industry.

Gladys Knight accepts legend award from Natalie Cole. (Google)

The 2011 Soul Train Awards were broadcast last night on BET. The awards, which were previously taped at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta, featured a preshow that was hosted by songstress Melanie Fiona and A.J. Calloway. Gladys Knight and Earth, Wind and Fire were honored with legend and lifetime achievement awards while the late rapper Heavy D was remembered in a tribute featuring Goodie Mob, Kurtis Blow, Naughty by Nature, Big Daddy Kane, Whodini, Kurtis Blow and Doug E. Fresh. Even Bushwick Bill made an appearance.

The show also introduced the Ashford & Simpson Songwriter of the Year Award, which went to Marsha Ambrosius. Other winners included Miguel for best new artist and Chris Brown for album of the year, which he accepted via video.

Read more at News One.

Like The Root on Facebook. Follow us on Twitter.