Somali Pirates Don't Get the Memo, Seize Two Ships

Somali pirates seize two vessels in the Gulf of Aden...

Posted:
 

Somali pirates back up to their hijinks! From CNN:

The UK-flagged chemical tanker St. James Park, with 23 crew members aboard, was attacked at 14:49 UTC Monday (9:49 a.m. ET), said Michael Howlett, spokesman for the Maritime Bureau.

The vessel was hijacked in the Gulf of Aden, the European Union Naval Force in Somalia said on its Web site.

Twenty-six crew members were aboard -- including Bulgarians, Filipinos, Georgians, Indians, Poles, Romanians, Russians, Turks and Ukrainians, the EU naval force said.

After the vessel sent a distress signal, a warship from Task Force 151 contacted the ship and confirmed that it had been hijacked.

The St. James Park started its journey Sunday and is now heading toward the Somali coast, the EU naval force said, adding that it is monitoring the situation.

A second vessel, the Navios Apollon bulk carrier, sailing under Panamanian flag and carrying 19 crew members, was attacked at 18:47 UTC Monday (1:47 p.m. ET).

The bulk carrier also was seized in the Gulf of Aden off Somalia, Howlett said.

Read the rest on the hijacking at CNN

Comments
The Root encourages respectful debate and dialogue in our commenting community. To improve the commenting experience for all our readers we will be experimenting with some new formats over the next few weeks. During this transition period the comments section will be unavailable to users.

We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your continued support of The Root.

While we are experimenting, please feel free to leave feedback below about your past experiences commenting at The Root.
The Root 100 People's Choice Awards  
Sept. 19 2014 8:34 AM